Thursday, December 06, 2012

Chairman Lucas Announces New Members For House Agriculture Committee

Rep. Huelskamp removed from Committee...
House Agriculture Committee Chairman Frank Lucas (R-OK) on Wednesday announced seven new Republican Members who are expected to serve on the Committee in the 113th Congress. The list has been recommended by the Republican Steering Committee and is expected to be officially adopted in January by the Republican Conference and the House.  There is one Member each from New York, Florida, North Carolina, Illinois, Michigan, and two from California.

Lucas was re-elected to his post by the House Republican Conference last week, and will again be Chair of the important Ag committee for the 113th Congress. Meantime, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) has announced that Rep. Collin Peterson (D-Minn), will remain the ranking member on House Ag.  He was Chair when Congress passed the 2008 Farm Bill, and has been ranking member since 2011.

Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan), a vocal critic of the Obama Administration's school nutrition standards and the Let's Move! campaign, was removed from both the Ag committee and the Budget committee earlier this week by House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH).  House sources said Huelskamp had lost his committee assignments because he was unwilling to cooperate with the leadership on a wide range of issues, reported The Hagstrom Report.  Huelskamp was a co-sponsor of a bill to repeal parts of the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act.

"I am pleased to welcome our new Republican Members to the House Agriculture Committee," Lucas said in a statement.   "I look forward to working with all of them in the next Congress as we continue to ensure the health and vitality of production agriculture and rural economies."

The new Members joining the Committee: 

Dan Benishek (MI-1)
Chris Collins (NY-27)
Rodney Davis (IL-13)
Jeff Denham (CA-19)
Richard Hudson (NC-8)
Doug LaMalfa (CA-1)
Ted Yoho (FL-3)

The vacancy is expected to be filled by a Member from a Southern state.